Lord Willing

Another 4th of July has come and gone. Looking at my cousin Marian’s blog and her photos makes me think that holidays become way fun again when you have kids. Her July 5th post has such cute pictures of her kids enjoying the 4th. It’s not that holidays aren’t fun right now for me, they are just less eventful than when I was younger. But when you have kids you can see it all again through their eyes I suppose.

Something to look forward to. Not anytime SOON, but sometime, Lord willing.

Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.”
James 4:13-15

I am praying that the Lord wills that we will have children, and that it won’t be for a couple years. But I know that sometimes his plans are not my own–most of the time actually.

In his heart a man plans his course,
but the LORD determines his steps.
Proverbs 16:9

3 thoughts on “Lord Willing

  1. Thanks Laura! They are way more fun with kids. I don’t think I have been to a 4th of July parade and years and never would have been dancing to the band marching down the street. And Finn didn’t know who “America” was but was sure glad that she was having birthday so that we could celebrate! 🙂

  2. You are sitting right next to me and I keep looking over at you to make sure you’re not reading over my shoulder : ) You are sneaky though.

    It’s true, what you said about the holidays and kids I think… I still really enjoy holidays, but it seems like, for different reasons than I did when I was a kid. Now, I think it’s the time spent with family… during the teenage years, I could almost care less about the family time – I had too much of it anyway. And during childhood – 4th of July was a sweet opportunity to strap the largest firework I could find to the first unfortunate grasshopper that hopped across my path.

    Kids, yes. Someday. Hopefully not too soon though… Lord willing.

  3. I like that picture on your top-thing. (with the white flowers and green leaves.)

    I’m ready whenever the Lord wants you to have children.
    Oh yes….
    No hurry, though.
    Well, not much.
    Ha!

Leave a Reply

