A Funny Sunday

What a funny Sunday. My honey is working a 12 hour shift today, and I am going to two church services without him. I went to the Village this morning. Matt Chandler gave a really good sermon about slavery in the Bible. You see, we are going through the book of Colossians and had gotten to this point:

Slaves, obey your earthly masters in everything; and do it, not only when their eye is on you and to win their favor, but with sincerity of heart and reverence for the Lord. Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. Anyone who does wrong will be repaid for his wrong, and there is no favoritism. Masters, provide your slaves with what is right and fair, because you know that you also have a Master in heaven.
Colossians 3:22-4:1

So instead of ignoring this issue that the Bible clearly has not ignored, Matt dived in and we talked about slavery and how and why the Bible talks about slavery. It is just one of those things in the Bible that you come across and aren’t really sure what to do with. Matt’s sermon was good and helped put things in the right perspective. I’ll put a link up of the podcast later if you are interested.

My second church service will be at Fellowship of the Parks, where I will listen to my dear old Dad preach. I grew up listening to him preach, and sometimes get to missing it, so I’m looking forward to today. Plus, it’s always good to see the fam.

But I miss my honey. I like sitting with him at church; I’ve gotten pretty used to him being beside me.

2 thoughts on “A Funny Sunday

  1. Aw, I know you missed your honey at church! Kyle and I haven’t been able to sit next to each other and worship together all summer (on Sunday mornings, anyway), since we are serving at different churches. We can’t wait to spend our first Sunday together next week!

Leave a Reply

