A Productive Afternoon

There are some very nice ladies who threw me a wedding shower last May. Not only did they throw me the shower, but they also got me a very nice gift–a sewing machine. I had only used a sewing machine once in my life, but it was something I was interested in pursuing further.

From then until a couple of weeks ago, I hadn’t touched the thing. It intimidated me. Well long story short, I decided a couple of weeks ago that I was going to make Ryan and I’s Christmas stockings. Nothing elaborate, just simple, nice, one-of-a-kind stockings. After all, I did have a sewing machine.

So I finally got her out, read her manual, and Googled “how to sew Christmas stockings”. I found some great videos on YouTube produced by Etsy that I decided to use to complete my project. Then I waited a couple more weeks before going out and buying fabric (I was still intimidated).

That day was today–I bought fabric and made my first stocking all in the same afternoon. I’m so proud! Here is a not-so-good picture taken on my PhotoBooth of the almost-finished product.

I say “almost finished” because I still need to write my name on the white cuff with fabric paint. Yes, I made my stocking first in case I messed it up terribly. It certainly isn’t perfect, but it’s awesome because I made it. Ryan’s will have the same white cuff but with a different fabric. I got such pretty patterned fabric so I wouldn’t have to do any embellishments on my own. Making the stocking was enough of a challenge.

I’m so proud of myself! So I had to share. Ryan is at work, and Akon and Scobi don’t really care, so I had to blog about it.

One thought on “A Productive Afternoon

Leave a Reply

