Weddings, Running, and Time Travel

Well, knitting socks has proved to be a lot more challenging than I thought. I’ve decided to regress and do some easier knitting projects before attempting socks again. If I try to do something too challenging I will just get frustrated and give up on knitting all together and I don’t want to do that.

In other news, our fridge is becoming covered with wedding invitations, and I know more are on the way. It’s a fun time. And every time I get one/go to a wedding I just feel relieved that ours is over. It was definitely one of the most fun days of my life, but I’m relieved it is over.

I have a funny feeling whenever I talk to a soon-to-be bride about her wedding plans. It’s the same feeling I have when I got back to Baylor campus. It’s like–What? People are still doing this? I graduated from Baylor so I just thought the place closed down. People are still going to class? I have finished planning my wedding, so hasn’t everybody else? I don’t really think that on a conscious level, but I get a funny time-travel feeling when I do those things.

On a final note–I love this weather! Akon and I have begun to go running together. It has been really good bonding for him and I. We just finished week 2 of an 8 week running regimen for beginning runners that my neighbor-friend Heidi recommended (see it yourself here). The goal is to be able to run for 30 minutes straight by the end of it. I might have to repeat this week though because Akon and I were dieing today on our run/walk. So our 8 week regimen might stretch to 9 or 10 weeks, which is fine with me (Akon doesn’t really get a choice).

Oh, and this is really the final note. Ryan has started walking! (ha, If you didn’t know any background you might think that Ryan was my child). He can carefully walk now while wearing his boot. So good! The doctor says his leg isn’t healed yet–it won’t for another couple of months–but that it is still important to put weight on it so that the bone knows that it needs to heal itself. Going back to work is in sight!

2 thoughts on “Weddings, Running, and Time Travel

  1. I proud that you’re knitting. I have never even attempted.

    When I hear of people talking about their kids’ weddings coming up I breathe a sigh of relief, too. Oh yes. (But oh, it WAS a great day.)

    That running thing sounds good. And I bet Akon loves it!

    And so glad that Ryan is starting to walk. Bless his heart. And bless yours.

    Is that heading picture from Italy?

Leave a Reply

