What Should I Do With My Life

That is the title of a book by Po Bronson about this “obvious and universal question” that we all confront. He interviewed 900 people regarding this decision. I haven’t read the book, but I read (most of) an interview with him on NPR. I appreciated this:

We let our fears govern our decisions; rather than challenging the validity of those fears, we accept the boundaries set by those fears, and end up confining our search to a narrow range of possibilities, like the guy looking for his car keys under the streetlight because he’s afraid of the dark. . . We place too much emphasis on being respected by an imaginary audience; we shy away from avocations that take a long time to mature and pay off.

I definitely fall into those things–letting my fears govern my decisions, letting what an imaginary group of people think govern what I do, or what I imagine a real group of people to think of me . But I’ll never find my car keys that way!

I believe that ultimately, no matter what we do for a living, the important thing is that we approach it with joy and hard work, not to bring glory to ourselves, but to God. He created this world and all of us, so as we use the skills and talents his has given us to work on his creation we need to be thanking and pointing to him all the way.

I’ll have to remember that in a couple of hours when I go to work!

_____________________________
Spring break! Woohoo!
_____________________________

Also, I attended/helped put on an awesome house show on Thursday night featuring two huband and wife teams–Jenny & Tyler and Carolina Story. It was so great! And both bands were so laid back and fun to be around. Here is a taste of Jenny & Tyler.

This song makes me think of Psalm 27:14

Wait for the LORD;
be strong and take heart
and wait for the LORD.

He’s coming back!

And in the meantime, we do what the bridge of this song says

Where there is hatred, let me sow love
Where the is injury. let me pardon
Where there is darkness, let the light come
Come

That’s what I should do with my life.

4 thoughts on “What Should I Do With My Life

  1. Makes me think of my parents… great thoughts. I often would hear my mother say, after encountering a rude person… “I will make that person my best friend” … and often she would win that person over with deeds of love.

Leave a Reply

