Oy

Ryan has been working nights lately. On nights that he works, I have developed a bit of a routine. He leaves at about 5:30. First I do some school work usually and eat dinner. Sometimes that involves going to Panera (I love their mac n cheese, but Ryan doesn’t really like eating there), or just finding something at home. Then I oftentimes will bake something–muffins, bread, or maybe cookies–while watching Heroes (I am on season 3). Then I’ll continue to watch Heroes while knitting. Then I will read a little before going to bed. That’s my routine pretty much. I enjoy it.

It was rudely interrupted last night, though, when the electricity went out for a little over an hour. It would have been fun if Ryan was with me, but instead it was just a little scary and frustrating. Scary because I was home alone except for Akon and Scobi, and frustrating because I was in the middle of a Heroes episode and my banana-chocolate-chip muffins were in the oven. I lit some candles, put on my headlamp, and tried to make the best of it. My muffins turned out okay anyway, once the electricity came back on and they finished baking.

Well, then this morning I awoke to my backyard being flooded. Oy. Turns out it was a problem with our neighbor’s pipes, but it still made for a more hectic Saturday morning.

Sometimes things just don’t work out as you expect them to.

3 thoughts on “Oy

Leave a Reply

