I’m Glad

Sitting on the porch with my honey. It’s a beautiful day here in Denton. Exactly a year ago this week we had snow and ice, while today it’s seventy degrees and breezy. I’ll take either/or: I like snow, and I like seventy degrees.

Unbeknownst to me when I woke up this morning, today was my first day subbing. I thought it would be another week until I was in the system, but I got a phone call at about 9:30, asking if I wanted to work this afternoon. I like to be mentally prepared for things. This was not part of the plan for my day, but I didn’t have a good reason to say no, so I took the job. And so I spent the afternoon with a cute second grade class. We read the Tortoise and the Hare, talked about cause and effect and the moral of the story (“Don’t fall asleep while running a race” according to one student), ate M&Ms, and did other 2nd grade-y things. I’m glad I took the job. I’m glad my first day is now behind me. I’m glad to be working again, but still have a very flexible schedule. I’m also super glad to be working in the same town that I live in. I did my student teaching 40 minutes away from home — 8 minutes away is so much better!!

So it seems I’m glad about a lot of things.

I’m also glad that I used my crockpot for the first time a couple of nights ago. I was so impressed with myself that of course I had to take a picture.

Spicy lentil soup –> yum! And tons leftover. Mi gusto leftovers.

2 thoughts on “I’m Glad

Leave a Reply

