Two Good Reads

Finished two books this week! Here is what I have to say about them . . .

The Snow ChildThe Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Such an enchanting story! This novel was very cozy for me,–the story and the setting. I was afraid it might be too sad or heavy, and while there was sadness, it was balanced well with joyful and lighter moments. This will become a classic on my bookshelf. The only reason I didn’t give it five stars was because, near the end, I wasn’t satisfied with the where the story went. That could just be my personal preference though, and I would still definitely recommend this book.

Counsel from the Cross: Connecting Broken People to the Love of ChristCounsel from the Cross: Connecting Broken People to the Love of Christ by Elyse Fitzpatrick
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I read this book for a counseling class I took at my church. It was very edifying–I feel like this book counseled me! Fitzpatrick and Johnson continually point to the gospel as the source of strength, hope, and freedom. A lot of the truths in this book were not new to my mind, but became so much more true to my heart. My copy is full of my underlinings and is definitely a book I would like to revisit.

I also appreciated the distinction made between different forms of counseling–secular psychology, biblical counseling, and gospel-centered counseling. They define gospel-centered counseling as, “One Christian, coming alongside another with words of truth to encourage, admonish, comfort, and help–words . . .grounded in the gracious saving work of Jesus Christ, and presented in the context of relationship.” The goal is that the person would “grow in his or her understanding if the gospel and how it applies to every area of life and then respond in grateful obedience” (p. 91-92).

This is a solid book. Great for anyone one to read, because we all encounter situations where a friend needs to be counseled, and we could all use some good gospel-centered counseling ourselves.

View all my reviews

________________________________

And then there’s this . . .

2 thoughts on “Two Good Reads

  1. Pingback: Stitched and Drawn « laurel leaf

Leave a Reply

