Sneaky Picture

I got to be an art teacher all week this week. Monday, at an elementary school, and the rest of the week in the same high school classroom. Most of the high school classes were working on teacher caricatures. I joined in and drew a little caricature of Ryan.

It’s not quite cartoony enough, but I still think is captures his likeness pretty well.

I’ve also finished reading another book — whizzed through it really. It’s a really cool book — a graphic novel. In it, the author/artist tells the story of his father, who was Jewish and living in Poland at the time of WW2. In the book, mice are Jews and cats are Nazis (also French are frogs, Polish are pigs, Americans are dogs etc — the mice and the cats are most important, though). Here’s what I thought about the book.

The Complete MausThe Complete Maus by Art Spiegelman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is the first graphic novel I have read, and I loved it. Such a cool way to tell a story. I also loved how the author/artist really put himself into the story. In it, Art Spiegelman is talking with is dad about his experiences as a Polish Jew during WW2–hiding from the Nazis, and eventually ending up in Auschwitz. The father’s story itself is very compelling. It is also interesting how Art himself portrays his own concerns in creating Maus and his relationship with his dad –Art embeds himself into the story. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone remotely interested in WW2/Nazi Germany. Really, just to anyone at all.

View all my reviews

This is my fifth book to review on GoodReads, and the 4th book to give 5 stars. I guess I’m pretty easy to please. I also only read books that I already pretty much know that I’ll like — they’ve been recommended to me and/or I’ve read a lot of reviews of it and/or I trust the author.

Since I finished Maus yesterday, I’ve started a new novel: Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell. This one should take me considerably longer to finish, as its 456 pages. It’s one of those books that has sit on our shelf for awhile, lonely and untouched. Neither of us have read it, so I’m taking the plunge.

It’s so nice to have the time to read. I’m thankful for that. And it’s nice to have a husband who loves to read as well, so that we can have reading dates. Like yesterday when we went to Panera.

Sneaky pictures are the best.

7 thoughts on “Sneaky Picture

  1. Oo, I need to read that one, I’ve heard good things about it.
    I’ve read half of Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell (stopped because of finals and never picked it back up) but what I read was awesome. FYI, If you want it on audio, there is a free podcast of some guy reading it.

    Great caricature!

  2. I love going on reading dates too! I also love to go eat dinner some place simple (like La Madeline or Jason’s Deli) and read by myself for a couple of hours. Very relaxing.

    Do you find that you have a lot of time to read while you sub? I’ve always wondered that about subbing. I guess it depends on the class that you’re subbing and the age of the kids. I would love to pick up a book and read during class sometimes, but I’m pretty sure I’d get in trouble for that…

  3. Great cartoon of Ryan!!
    And you make me see my need to read more……
    You write those reviews so well.
    And you got to teach art all week!! šŸ™‚

    Love your blog. šŸ™‚

  4. Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell is one of the Massey favorites! I am confident you’ll enjoy it. : ) And, you’ll prob read it faster than you think because you won’t want to put it down.

    (Love the cartoon of Ryan.)

Leave a Reply

