Books and Chicks

Just finished reading a big, fun novel. And by “just” I mean like two minutes ago. So of course right away I had to log into GoodReads right away and record my impression of it. That makes finishing a book seem like much more of an accomplishment.

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell: A NovelJonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell: A Novel by Susanna Clarke
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I very much enjoyed this book. It is like historical fiction, which is one of my favorite genres, but it is set in an alternate history, one that involves the existence of magic. It is a very thick book, with very long footnotes that serve to create the context of this novel — referencing older magicians and places and stories. At times the footnotes did bog me down a bit because I didn’t want to keep leaving the pace of the story, but they were also fun, and made the “history” seem more legitimate.

The story is quirky and doesn’t take itself too seriously. The writing is clever, witty, and at times beautiful. I’d recommend this one.

In other news we got some some chicks this week (I almost put “baby chicks”, but that would be redundant).

Six to be exact.

Their names are Bunny, Goldie, Dobby, Andie, Queenie, and Quail.

5 thoughts on “Books and Chicks

  1. Cute chicks!

    If you’ve named Dobbie after the house elf (I think you did,) it should be Dobby with a “y,” just so you know.

Leave a Reply

