Empty Nest

Last night was a big deal in the life of our little family (and by “our family” I mean our dog, cat, 3 fish, 6 chickens, and of course Ryan and me). Our little chickens spent the night in their new coop for the first time. The coop is located on our friends’ land, about 10 minutes from our house.

Ryan has been working on the coop ever since we got the chicks, and yesterday it was finally finished enough for them to start living in it. They were getting too big for the little cage they had been living in at our house. So this is their mansion.

Ryan is out their right now, adding the finishing touches to their coop and installing the solar-powered electric fence that lines the bottom to deter predators. He still hasn’t let me know if they survived the night … suspense!

It was kind of sad leaving them out there last night. They seemed scared, all huddled together, clucking and chirping worriedly. They are used to spending the night in our bathroom with a heat lamp on them, not in a big, dark, empty coop … And it was raining …

I’m sure they are fine. Just wish I knew for sure for sure!

_________________________________

I also finished a really good book this week. I gave this book to my mom for Christmas, having not read it myself but knowing that it was supposed to be really good. Then, when she was finished, I took it back and read it myself. Don’t worry, I gave it back to her. Eventually.

One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You AreOne Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are by Ann Voskamp
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A beautifully written book. Voskamp takes you on her journey of discovering the transformative power of gratitude–of intentionally naming the gifts God gives us everyday. She is achingly honest about how hard it can be to see God’s grace in all that he gives and takes away. She writes in such a way that you really feel like you are right next to her, experiencing the same pain, frustration, revelations, and redemption. All is grace. This book makes you want to laugh and cry. It really dug down deep into me. Definitely something I need to read again and again.

View all my reviews
_____________________________________

Update:
They survived; they are a happily settled into their home after their first night. Of course they are. Their Dad is taking care of them, he sent me a picture of the solar panel.

And did I mention the coop has wheels? You move it around every couple of weeks or so. Having chickens is really good for your soil–they till the soil by scratching, they eat bugs, and their poop is really great fertilizer. In a couple of months they will start producing eggs. Having chickens is a fun endeavor. If you want to know more about having your own little flock, this website is very helpful.

One thought on “Empty Nest

  1. Wow. That chicken coop is intricate.

    I’m so glad the chickies survived the night. (So glad you included that update.)

    And yes, I loved that Voscamp book. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

