Color Play

I do enjoy drawing people and things and animals.  Looking at something and translating in onto paper.  Yesterday though, I was itchin to create and didn’t feel like drawing what I saw.  I just felt like playing.  So, inspired by an art-lesson that I came across on Pinterest, I played with my oil pastels.  I played with color.

The lesson is inspired by Mark Rothko and his color field paintings, such as ..

I wanted to get out of my rut, so I got out of my sketchbook and into my recycling bin. I found a little piece of cardboard ..

Turned it over, and created some fields of color of my own using oil pastels.

It was so very refreshing and fun. I want to do this more.

To play with color.

To not have it need to look like anything.

It also helped that Ryan was watching a Sigur Ros DVD in the other room.

You gotta have balance in your life, you know? Realism and non-representational. Oh, and speaking of — this wouldn’t really be called “abstract” art. People misuse that term a lot. To abstract something means to break it down to its basic parts (like an abstract to an article). There still is a subject to the abstract artwork, though oftentimes it is so abstracted that is it unrecognizable. My little piece would be more accurately called “non-representational.” There is no subject. I didn’t abstract anything. I just colored color. If I was trying to represent a sunset or something, then I would call it abstract.

It can be confusing, I know. But that was just a little something for ya. You can throw it out at parties.

6 thoughts on “Color Play

  1. Oh my, Laura – I like your color play very, very much. I especially like the bottom half. The photo you took of the orange and yellow with the blue background – well, it may not be a representation of any particular thing or subject , but it represents a lot to me – I see Texas wildflowers in the spring reflected in a still pond. I see breathing space for my soul. I see peace and joy encapsulated in one moment. Thanks for taking time to teach about art here too. I’ve learned so much about art from reading your blog. Ummm mmmmm…

  2. Pingback: Just get it done. « laurel leaf

Leave a Reply

