Ode to Scobi

Went to the pound yesterday to look for Scobi to no avail.  It’s been over a week.

We’ve had Scobi since we were married, or two months after we got married really.

This is a picture of Scobi at the Denton Animal Shelter when we got him. He went by “Snickers” there.

I don’t mean for this to be a super downer post or anything, just want to remember him a little bit.

We aren’t really cat people, more dog people. If we had to have a cat though, Scobi was perfect for us. A great cuddler.

I don’t know what his life was like before becoming apart of our family. The shelter guessed that he was 8, which would make him 10 now. We gave him a good life for a little while, I’d like to think.

And I know he could still show up again on our doorstep. Cats do that. But I don’t think that he will. I think he’s gone.

I know he’s just a cat, and I definitely won’t miss him scratching our leather couch or sharpening his claws on our chairs, but I’ll miss him still.

I don’t imagine we will get another cat. Like I said, we are more dog (and chicken) people. And I don’t think any other cat could top Scobi.

3 thoughts on “Ode to Scobi

  1. I’ve never been much of a cat person… but this Scobi-deal has really made me sad. He had such a good home. …. and well, I hope something bad didn’t happen.

  2. What’s happening to you is exactly what happened with us and our kitty about three years ago. He went out for some play time on Thanksgiving and never came back. We looked and looked. Like you, we’re not cat people. But we were Manji people. (That was his name, Manji.) And like you, we had mixed emotions about his “disappearance” … no more litter issues, no more pee on carpet issues, no more scratching issues. My point: we completely understand. And it is a big deal. And we know exactly how it feels. And nothing is too little for the Spirit’s comfort. Miss you guys. Hope all other things are going well.

    P.S. Love the new curtains.

Leave a Reply

