Good Reminder

Sitting outside at The Pearl Cup with my honey.

He’s pretty cute.

They make a good latte here. And it’s such a beautiful day to sit outside.

Remember when I used to always blog from coffee shops? I would be studying there. Now, spending an afternoon at a coffee shop–reading, blogging, sipping, people watching–is a rare treat. It’s usually a Sunday afternoon affair.

I don’t really have much else to say. Well, there is this poem that I like. It’s by Ted Loder and I found it on chatting at the sky yesterday.

Gather Me to be with You
Oh God, gather me now to be with you as you are with me.

Soothe my tiredness;
quiet my fretfulness;
curb my aimlessness;
relieve my complusiveness;
let me be easy for a moment.

O Lord, release me
from the fears and guilts which grip me so tightly;
from the expectations and opinions which I so tightly grip,
that I may be open
to receiving what you give,
to risking something genuinely new,
to learning something refreshingly different.

Forgive me
for claiming so much for myself
that I leave no room for gratitude;
for confusing exercises in self-importance
with acceptance of self-worth;
for complaining so much of my burdens
that I become a burden;
for competing against others so insidiously
that I stifle celebrating them
and receiving your blessing through their gifts.

O God, gather me to be with you as you are with me.

Amen.

Good truth in that poem. Good reminders.

One thought on “Good Reminder

  1. That is a great picture of Ryan.

    And I bet you DO miss those coffee shop days when they were many.

    That poem is wonderful.

    And I like that picture of the little bird. 🙂

    (You’re great at inspiring us.)
    (Thank you.)

Leave a Reply

