Hearts and Feathers

Oh goodness, it has been awhile. I’m not going to apologise though–it’s my blog and I can do what I want. It does feel good to be typing in this little box again though–the “add new post” box. Maybe I need to resurrect this habit. Or maybe not. We’ll see.

To get me back in the posting groove I thought I would share some things that have been happening in my little sketchbook. I’m supposed to have it filled up a month from now in order to get my professional development credit. It’s good to have a due date, though really I already have plenty of pd hours so it wouldn’t matter if I didn’t. But I will.

So here are a few sketchbook pages. I like to show things in context, so that’s why you’ll see my fingers, a little bit of the my table, and the adjacent page.

I’ve been having fun using watercolor pencils. So here are some doodles where I used them..

Doodled while listening to the new Fiona Apple album

Doodled while listening to the new Fiona Apple album


Valentines' day inspired. I was working with lots of hearts with my 1st and 2nd graders so I wanted some heart art too.

Valentines’ day inspired. I was working with lots of hearts with my 1st and 2nd graders so I wanted some heart art too.


One of Andie's feathers.  She was our most beautiful chicken and was eaten by a coyote. (That's our theory anyway)

One of Andie’s feathers. She was our most beautiful chicken and was eaten by a coyote. (That’s our theory anyway)


Chevron is pretty trendy, so I doodled some of that.  Marker and pen.

Chevron is pretty trendy, so I doodled some of that. Marker and pen.


Last Sunday was so beautiful and I spent some time in a hammock in our  backyard.  That's when I drew this tree in pen.  And no I didn't finish.  I always like the idea of drawing trees, but don't usually have the patience.

Last Sunday was so beautiful and I spent some time in a hammock in our backyard. That’s when I drew this tree in pen. And no I didn’t finish. I always like the idea of drawing trees, but don’t usually have the patience.

So there are some things. And here is the aforementioned Andie.
IMG_0403

One thought on “Hearts and Feathers

Leave a Reply

