Art is Smart

I feel like all I really talk about on here recently is art, but that’s my life currently. And art is pretty cool so that’s ok.

Ryan and I are amateur art collectors, and we have some recent acquistions. The first is this lovely giclee art print by artist Joe Sorren (one of Ryan’s favorite artists, mentioned also in this post). It is the first print of just 50 made of this artwork, so that is pretty special.

When She Was Camera

Here it is in context, on our gray wall.

Here it is in context, on our gray wall.

The other art I just hung up are original paintings done by none other than Ryan’s own brother. The top one he gave to me for Christmas, and the bottom he gave to Ryan for his birthday. Ryan and I love having original works of art–in case you are thinking of giving us a present any time soon. So here the watercolor paintings now hang in our study.

Had to include BU sock monkey and the blanket I knitted this past summer.

Had to include BU sock monkey and the blanket I knitted this past summer.


And here they are up close. These are terrible photographs from my iPhone, but at least you can get a closer look. There is such rich, surreal, interesting, and perplexing details in these paintings.
IMG_1092

IMG_1091

You’ll just have to see them in person (if we know you, that is, and invite you).

And here is some more art! I was so fearful of teaching clay to my elementary students, but now it is my favorite. My second graders made some clay fish after reading …

Such a cute book!


Here are some of their pout-pout fish.
IMG_0984
And here are some glazed.
They have such personality!  I love them.

They have such personality! I love them.


I got the idea for the lesson from Art With Mr. E.

And then here is a self-portrait I drew last Sunday in pen.
IMG_1070
I usually draw in pencil, and I was pretty scared of the whole not-erasing-thing. But it was a good challenge! I need to draw more in pen.

3 thoughts on “Art is Smart

  1. I had no idea that Ryan’s brother could draw so well! Those are beautiful!

    And some of those fish are incredible!!

    And you look beautiful in your self-portrait!

Leave a Reply

