Ouch

Well, it’s officially summer. Spent some time by the pool yesterday with some oldie-but-goodies-friends.

20130611-100638.jpg
And I’m officially very sunburned because I stupidly did not wear sunscreen.

Yep, it’s all very official.

Good thing I’m only sunburned on my front side, because I have a massage scheduled today that would otherwise be very painful.

Ah the life of a teacher in the summertime. Across the street from our house their is a school that is still not out for summer break. This is their last week. I feel for those teachers. I walked the dogs by a group of rowdy children at said school this morning and just felt so free.

And I’ve been able to spend some time doodling in front of the TV.

In pen..

20130611-101813.jpg
And then in oil pastel…

20130611-101909.jpg
I really enjoy oil pastel because of the potential for color-mixing, but it is difficult to do fine details with them, because they are so thick.

I want to draw more from life, not just abstract doodles. It just is more stressful because you actually want it to look like something. But anytime I get frustrated, I need to practice what I preach to my kids. Never give up on a drawing. Make beautiful oopses. Use the mistake. Don’t just give up and start over (a.k.a. Don’t waste my paper). If I can’t do that, how can I expect them to!

That actually is one of the strict rules in my classroom–no new paper. To save paper and to encourage kids to think outside the box and use their mistakes. Sometimes this means tears. And the tears really tempt me to break my rule. But usually friends who sit nearby will offer suggestions on how to make it a beautiful oops, and I will too, and they will sit there in frustration for a few minutes. Then I have to walk sway and let them figure it out, and by the end they are usually pleased with themselves. There have been a couple times I have broken my rule and nearly always have regretted it. Usually if I let one student start over, then all of a sudden no one is happy with their art and everyone wants a new paper. Which is very annoying. So I’ve learned my lesson a few times about that.

So that was a little tangent, but I hope you liked it.

2 thoughts on “Ouch

Leave a Reply

